An open letter. Probably the first of many.

It’s a long while since I wrote anything on this blog, but ideas have been bubbling away, deep in the recesses of my tiny brain.

Having reached the inevitable conclusion that there is absolutely nothing I can do about the madness I witness all around me each and every day, it seems only right that I should at least try to understand what is actually going on.  Since I cannot speak, nor read nor write the language (a situation I am determined to rectify sooner or later), I suppose I can at least ask a few questions in the vain hope that somebody may enlighten me.  I’ll try to keep it short.  Perhaps an observation in each post, coupled with a question and maybe a suggestion or two.  I no longer have a camera on my phone, so I may be a little lacking in visuals.  Let’s see how I get on.

As you will know if you’ve read some or all of my previous posts about life in Taiwan, there are some mighty odd things for an old westerner to deal with each day, not least when out and about on my bike or in the car, so I’ll begin with the police.

Dear Taiwanese police officers…

I doubt you’ll have time to read this because you’ll be out at some junction dealing with yet another (probably minor) collision between a car and a scooter, or between a scooter and another scooter, but should you find yourself with a moment, perhaps you could answer this question.  What are you thinking as you attend your 93rd incident of the day?  Do you, or any of your superiors, wonder why you spend so much time dealing with these collisions?  Has anyone ever thought to analyse and address the cause of these same collisions?  Has nobody noticed the similarities?  Do you not think that it is a massive drain on/waste of resources?  I’m genuinely curious.  What exactly are you thinking?

Here’s a classic example.

And another

And for monumental stupidity (not for the faint-hearted):

I simply don’t understand why there is nothing being done to deal with this problem.

If anyone out there is a Taiwanese police officer, or if you know someone who is a Taiwanese police officer, I’d be very grateful if you would forward this and ask them to respond.  Thank you so much.

Edit: I addressed this to the police.  Having thought about it, this is aimed at all Taiwanese citizens.  What are you thinking when you see this kind of thing?  I genuinely, genuinely would like to know.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “An open letter. Probably the first of many.”

  1. Taiwan Expat Says:

    I’ve been in Taiwan 5 years. As a daily commuter cyclist and motorcycle driver (yes, I have my license) I have seen this reckless driving daily. I don’t care if people break the law, that is their decision. For me, it’s when people break the law and it influences other people that makes me angry. Turning right on red WITHOUT even looking. They pretend that if they don’t look at me then I don’t exist. Fortunately, I have learned the ways of the road and never had any incidents but I have personally witnessed about a dozen crashes that could have been avoided with a little regard for other human life.

    • berevington Says:

      Quite. In fact, I don’t have a problem with going through red lights per se, as long as it’s done with care and consideration for others (God knows how much fuel is wasted by people sitting at red lights with not another vehicle within a quarter of a mile… but that’s another story). It’s this whole lack of ‘consideration for others’ issue that really angers me. Complete disregard on an epidemic scale. I propose “I’m all right, Jack!” as the national motto. 😉

Leave a Reply

