I had a dream

A nightmare, in fact.  I woke up in a cold sweat in the early hours of this morning.  This is genuine, if enhanced a little.  As always with dreams, the details are a little sketchy, but I can recall enough to outline the general thrust of the horror.

I was struggling to control some bloke.  Some pretty ordinary bloke we all seemed to know, but who wouldn’t be controlled.  I was attempting to tie his wrists with those cable ties (zip ties) that I’ve seen people using on t’ telly to restrain crazies or other offenders.  Somehow I couldn’t get them on properly and this bloke remained free to attack me – at least, this is what I feared, although he was not being aggressive or acting in a threatening manner.  The big problem was that I was working alone trying to control this menace, although I was surrounded by dozens of familiar faces, none of whom seemed to share my concern.  None would help.  This is what made the situation so frightening.  Evidently, everyone else knew this bloke and knew that he was posing no threat; why would he?  I was afraid because I was alone, because I was having no success in persuading my friends that I knew that this lunatic had to be controlled or he would eventually become a real danger to us or our children.

I’ve probably over analysed this, but I genuinely woke* in a cold sweat.  You know those dreams where you’re really grateful to have woken up?  Well, this was up there with the worst of them.  Dreams rarely make any sense, but here I am wondering whether this is my subconscious telling me that I am wasting my time, that I’m some kind of idealist (dreamer) and everyone else is simply looking down on me with that look which says “that way lies the funny farm”.

I read part of another blog yesterday in which it is clear that cyclists get scant consideration across the Pond as well.  http://listfulthinking.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/bicycle-races-are-coming-your-way/#comment-2356

*Now that’s weird – at that very moment Radiohead just came on the radio: “Are you such a dreamer to put the world to rights?” sings Mr Yorke.  Top tune, by the way:

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

